Knitting for a cause

2 10 2008

A dear friend of mine, Michele, was diagnosed with cancer 6 months ago. Michele is a wonderful woman who loves to knit and share her love of knitting with others. Cancer has been really hard on her these last few months. She’s been through chemo and is now going through radiation therapy and it’s really tough on her and her family. Donna, my boss from yarn4socks (Michele is one of her best friends) and I, have decided that we wanted to knit Michele a blanket knit out of sock yarn squares. This is where I need your help in knitting squares for this blanket.

Here are the details:

We’ve decided to go with squares knit out of this pattern by Knit me a River out of superwash fingering weight yarn. Each square should block out to about 9″. Michele likes warm colors so we thought that the yarns used should be in the warm tones of the colors. To give you an idea, here are the colorways I picked out of my leftover sock yarn stash that I thought would be appropriate.

For the Michele Project

We’d like to be able to give her this blanket at Thanksgiving, November 27, so if we could get all the squares in by November 15 that would give us time to seam them all together. If you’d like to send a square, or two,  just write a comment and I’ll send you the address where to send the square(s). If you have any questions feel free to leave a comment too! : )

I want to thank all of you who will help out in advance on behalf of Michele, I know that she will love her blanket.

*******

If you don’t want to knit a square but still want to help out, my friend Carol from Mad for Knit, is looking for donations. The last few months she’s been training like crazy for the October 12 half-marathon for the Dana-Farber foundation and cancer research. She’s still a couple hundred dollars short of her fundraising goal, so if you’d like to help, you can donate here.

THANK YOU!

Actions

Information

5 responses

3 10 2008
Chris

I’ll mention this on Monday. My thoughts are with Michele and her family.

3 10 2008
Karen

I’d be happy to knit a square.

4 10 2008
amandacathleen

I will be more than happy to knit you a square! Hmmm… now what yarn to use?

9 10 2008
Kelly

I could spare a square (or two) for this project. Just let me know where to send them!

13 10 2008
In Greens and Pinks « Knitting in Pink

[...] my first square for the Michele Project, click here if you want to help and need more information. I knit it out of Twisted Fiber Art Arial in the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

