Stitches Update

9 11 2009

Stitches has been over for what, 3 weeks already and I’m just getting around to doing a recap post. Sorry ’bout that, things are pretty crazy around here. No swine flu here, not even the regular flu, just a lot of work and not a lot of free time. But tonight I have some time, so, yay!

Stitches was fun, I even got to see some of you, although I did miss a few of you too as I left early. The yarn4socks booth was quite nice I thought but since photography wasn’t allowed I didn’t take any pictures of the booth. I did sneak quick camera phone pictures of my box bags before the marketplace opened though. They’re not very good but they’ll have to do.

I didn’t have a lot of room on the table so had to keep most of the box bags folded in a basket as you can see below:

006

I didn’t sell as much as I was hoping but did sell quite a few. The remaining bags are going to several shops so it wasn’t a waste at all. (if you’re interested 20 bags are going up at yarn4socks at this Sunday’s update)

I didn’t go crazy with the purchases and only bought 2 things:

Stitches East purchases

I hadn’t had a chance to see Jared Flood’s new book yet but I knew I wanted to make the vest on the cover. I was also attracted to the colors in the Zauberball and just had to bring one home with me. I knew I wasn’t going to knit socks with it but I knew that it would be perfect for a pattern I had just purchased, Little Colonnade by Stephen West, which you saw last week.

On a side note about Stitches: Did you know that the first thing I noticed the first time I walked onto the Marketplace was the full rows of Socks that Rocks at the Webs booth. I couldn’t believe it but I later found out that Webs is now going to be carrying STR, not online though but only in their store. What I thought was ironic was that the previous weekend, people were lining up for hours at the STR booth at Rhinebeck to get a skein of STR (I probably would have too, if I’d gone) and it was available right there a few days later, without any queuing involved. So if you’re in the market for STR, make a little trip to Webs, you’ll be able to buy all you want!

Stitches East is going to be in Hartford for the next 2 years so I’m sure I’ll get a chance to go next year! Maybe I’ll buy more yarn! : )

Actions

Information

9 responses

10 11 2009
Annette

Wow. Now that’s what I call restraint! Pretty yarn!

10 11 2009
kimchi

WOW, you are a Strong Woman to resist the Wool Fumes at Stitches!
Those two items you did get are very very nom-worthy! Can’t wait to see the vest-wip action! it was very hard for me to put that pattern book down myself when at a lys recently! :)

p.s. i used my market bag for it’s inaugural trip today– to another lys! haha!

10 11 2009
Macoco

I’m so glad it went well! :) And I’m excited it will be in Hartford the next few years – that’s not too far!

10 11 2009
Chris

Congrats on getting your bags into some stores!

11 11 2009
amandacathleen

oooo danger, danger! Webs carrying STR, their discounts get me every time!

11 11 2009
Karen

Well, I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who hasn’t gotten my Stitches East post up yet. :) It was so great to see you. And I looked for my bag in the picture you took – but don’t see it. It’s probably hiding in the back. After all, it took me several times through the box to finally settle on which one was going to come home with me – they were all so beautiful!!

16 11 2009
YarnAddict

Saw your bags mentioned in a magazine the ohter week but I can’t remember which one now. They look great. I’d love to go to Stitches one day.. .and Rhinebeck. I’ve suggested to my hsuband that one year we take a long holiday in the US and drive from fiber festival to fiber festival. He fancies a driving holiday in the US but he’s not sure about all hte fiber festivals. LOL.

30 11 2009
Beth

Hi there! I’m catching up on many months worth of blog reading. Congratulations on having your bags featured in the magazine! All of your projects look great and I love the purple ones you’ve recently finished! I’ve recently bought 4 or 5 pieces of clothing in that color. :)

7 01 2010
Becky

Hey! Are you okay? We haven’t heard from you in ages.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

