Knitting again!

14 03 2010

I want to thank all of you for your wonderful comments last week. I loved reading all of them, you guys are so very sweet. And thanks for hanging on when this blog was so very quiet. Energy’s back, the new house is getting better organized every day and I’m actually knitting and sewing again!

I had no idea how much I missed knitting and sewing until I finally was able to do it again. I caught up with my quilting bee blocks, finished my first baby knit and even finished a pair of socks! I also started working on my shawl again, figuring it out where I’d left off so many weeks/months ago and knit a row. Yeah, I know, just one row, but that was quite the accomplishment : )

So about a week ago I finished a cute little vest for the baby. I really wanted to try Pebble as I thought it looked like something that I could manage easily and would still look cute. I wanted to avoid buttons so I knit in the round and did a 2-needle bind off on the shoulders. I had this one skein of Lion Brand Wool-Ease in the stash so decided it would be perfect for this little project.

Red Pebble

I don’t really know when this will fit exactly but I expect it will fit someday! After knitting the vest I still have plenty of yarn leftover, so I’ll knit a pair of legwarmers and maybe a hat.

Yesterday I finished another project that had been on the needles since November, my first pair of socks of the year. And it was perfect timing because I killed my first pair of socks the day of our move. Close your eyes if you get shocked easily…

Hole in my only Yarntini self-striping socks!

One big gaping hole in my Yarntini self-striping socks : ( . I knit these socks in the summer of 2007 so I can say they’ve had a good life. The color had faded quite a bit but they were still lovely. They will be missed. But at least I can replace them by another pair of self-striping socks (with nylon this time) which should last me another many more years.

A finished pair of socks!

These socks were knit toe up, short-row heel with a stockinette foot and 3×3 ribbed leg. So now I don’t have any socks on the needles! Time to wind some yarn and find an easy pattern. Any suggestions for an easy, mindless pattern?


Actions

Information

9 responses

14 03 2010
mindy

Hole in sock- sad :-(. But proof that they were loved. New ones look great.

How about a super soft cotton boucle baby blanket? Let the yarn do all the work for you.

15 03 2010
madforknit

Mindless sock pattern really depends on how mindless you want. I tried Primavera last week and it was tooooooo boring. I’m doing Spring Forward now.

15 03 2010
Becky

Love all the colors in the new socks. A few socks back, I knit my plain vanilla sock but did a broken rib up the leg. It was different enough to be interesting but was still mindless enough that I could take the socks to Knit Night. Of course, my idea of interesting and mindless is likely a lot less than your’s since I have a lot less experience following stitch patterns.

15 03 2010
Guinifer

I find that my heel flap socks last longer than my short row heel socks too. But I knit so many socks I have a hard time worrying about them wearing through!!!

15 03 2010
Chris

That vest is cute!! I don’t have any short-row heel socks, so… I do have a few much loved pairs (probably from 2004/2005 that have worn through…

15 03 2010
kimchi

I’m late to the party but wanted to say a Huge CONGRATULATIONS! :) I was wondering where you had disappeared to but was in the midst of a move myself as well! Glad to hear that you are starting to feel better and your bump is so cute! And the vest? it makes me want to make one to save for my future child…so adorable!

16 03 2010
Sema Gurerk

Love your new socks. They look so cozy and warm….

16 03 2010
Annette

Too bad our handmade socks can’t last forever! I have a whole that I’m going to attempt to darn someday. I love your new pair. And the vest is really cute! :)

17 03 2010
Minh

Glad to see you got your knitting groove back on!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

