The tale of the Snickets

6 11 2007

One day, there was a beautiful pattern named Snicket socks. They were in the September 2006 edition of MagKnits. A few months later, in July of 2007, I saw iSeL’s gorgeous version of the pattern with modified heel and fell in love. At the same time, I had the chance to get a hold of a skein of Sunshine Yarns Soft in the Bloom colorway and thought that they would make a nice pair of Snickets à la iSeL’s.

So I cast on towards the end of July. Back then I still used a cable needle to cable, so the sock took some time and effort. It took me just over 2 weeks of exclusive knitting but I had one sock.

Snicket sock #1

A sock with no heel turn. Which I noticed only after the sock was finished.

Fast forward 2 months, it’s the beginning of October and I just want to get the pair done. It takes me a month but I get the second sock done. I also learned to cable without a cable needle in the meantime, which makes knitting the sock so much faster and easier.

1 finished Snicket

I also decide that the no heel turn thing is a problem and so I frogged sock #1 back to the heel. 5 days later I have a heel turn and another foot. And yet another pair of socks to keep my feet toasty warm this winter!

Finished Snicket socks!

Stats
Sock #1 was knit between July and August 2007, the foot was later reknit in November. Sock #2 was knit between October and November 2007.
Yarn: Sunshine Yarns Soft in Bloom
Pattern:Snicket Socks
Mods: Heel flap with twisted stitches columns as per iSeL Knits

**********

I’ll be visiting a friend in Iowa for a week starting tomorrow. I’ll be in the Waterloo area during my stay there. We’ll be going up to Minneapolis to get together with Chris. I’ll have internet access while in Iowa so let me know if you’re in the area and want to get together!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

