I don’t know what came over me

27 11 2007

Last night, I was minding my own business, browsing through Flickr when a series of unfortunate events brought me to this.

“This”, if you haven’t clicked on the links, is the Feather and Fan Comfort Shawl by Sarah Bradberry. I particularly fell in love with mustaavillaa and Funky Carolina‘s versions.

After browsing some more, through Ravelry and Flickr, I decided that I’d eventually try a version doing some of my leftover sock yarn. I sorted through my stash and came up with 2 piles. One of blues/greens/browns and one of pinks/purple/browns.

Here’s the version I liked the best:

Sock yarn leftovers for the Feather and Fan Comfort Shawl

You can click on the picture to make it bigger

You know where this is going, right?

This morning, I cast on and knit the first 22 rows, and this is what it looks like:

Feather and Fan Comfort Shawl

I’ve decided to go with 4mm size needles, as this was what a few people used. I think it looks nice so far and I’m enjoying it. Of course, I haven’t got 500 stitches on my needles yet…

To be continued.

**************

This weekend I went down to Mystic River Yarns for a Southern New England Knitting Blogger Meet-up. I was going to meet Debby which I had missed at Rhinebeck. Sadly, I experienced camnesia that morning and forgot to bring my camera. Thankfully, you can see plenty of pictures of the event on Debby, Sarah and Kristen’s blogs. It was quite fun and I had a great time, it was nice finally meeting you Debby!

I made one small purchase at Mystic River Yarn…

Misti Alpaca Chunky Fuschia

A skein of Misti Alpaca Chunky in Fuschia to knit a Foliage hat or something like that.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

