I know I’m a little late to the party…

29 11 2007

but I’ve been wanting to post this meme ever since I saw it on Turtlegirl‘s blog almost a month back.

1. What’s your favorite sock yarn? (please note that the word ‘yarn’ is singular. Just pick one. I know it’s hard.)
It’s the first question and I’m already having a hard time answering it. I would have to say that my favorite yarn to knit with so far was Dream in Color Smooshy. I loved knitting with this this summer for my Sockapalooza pal. The yarn was really soft and I love the colorways it comes in. Of course, since I didn’t knit them for myself I can’t say anything about the wearing of the yarn.

Finished Sockapalooza socks

This is a pair of Waving Lace in Dream in Color Smooshy Happy Forest

2. What’s your favorite type and brand of sock needle?
I’m a Magic Loop girl, so for me it’s circulars all the time. I love my Addis, but the cables get so full of kinks it’s a pain to knit with them. I also use the Inox circulars, these have perfect cables that don’t kink up but the join between the cable and the needle is a bit of a pain.

3. Do you knit your socks toe up, cuff down, or sideways?
I knit most of my socks toe-up but I will knit a cuff down sock if I have to, or if I want to do a picot cuff.

4. Do you knit both socks at once or just one at a time?
So far, they’ve all been one at the time. But I’d love to try the two at once, although I’d deathly afraid of the tangled mess that will most likely happen.

Dream in Color Smooshy - In Vino Veritas

Dream in Color Smooshy In Vino Veritas

5. What’s your favorite toe and why?
I’ve only done one kind of toe so far, the wedge toe. I find that it fits my feet quite well so I haven’t wanted to try anything else. Also, it’s the easiest toe to do toe-up.

6. Favorite heel?
Short-row heel all the way.

7. Do you prefer plain or patterned socks?
I love a plain stockinette sock to bring along with me but I am not afraid of a patterned sock and I love to knit them, just need a bit more attention.

8. Who do you knit the most socks for?
99% myself. But I’ve started knitting socks for other people now, there’s only so much room in my sock drawer after all.

9. Do you darn your socks? If not, what do you do with them?
I haven’t needed to yet, thankfully. I think that I’d probably try darning a small hole but I’m afraid I would just toss the offending sock in the trash. Good excuse to knit myself another pair!

10. Do you only wear handknit socks?
I alternate between my handknit socks and SmartWools. I just love those socks, they’re warm and comfortable. If you have to wear something else than handknit, I definitely recommend SmartWools.

Detail

Detail of the Waving Lace socks

Bonus question: What pattern, if any, is your basic “I-just-need-a-pair-of-socks” sock pattern based on? Do you keep it written down or memorized?
My basic pattern is a Turkish cast-on, toe up sock with a short row heel over 64 stitches on size 2.5mm needles. I don’t need to have it written down. Of course I’ll write down key numbers so that I can replicate in sock #2 but besides that, no.

ETA: In the comments to this post, my Sockapalooza pal Alli from Knitosaurus, for whom I knit the Waving Lace added: “Hey, just wanted to comment on the wearability of the Dream in Color Smooshy Sock Yarn! I wear the socks you made me about once a week and I handwash them in no-rinse wool-wash. They are holding up remarkably well so far. I have a lot of handknit socks and I seem to wear them pretty hard because especially the heels are just a wreak. I even have a pair I finished this summer that I have already had to darn! However, the Waving Lace Socks still look great, a little bit of fuzzing on the heels but other than that they look just like the day they came in the mail! I love them!”

Thanks for the feedback Alli!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

