I’m back!

5 02 2008

After over a week of silence I’m finally back on the Internet and in blogland.

The move went well. It took us forever but we got everything in the new apartment. It’s still a mess but it looks more like home everyday. The first thing I did was to make an appointment for the cable guy to come. He couldn’t come until yesterday… So for a week I was off of TV and Internet, ugh, that was tough. But I got a lot of unpacking done!

I didn’t get any knitting done for the first few days but last Wednesday I started working on my Snowflake Lace sock and got it done a few days later.

Snowflake Lace Sock #1

You’ll have to forgive me the flash but it’s really dark today and I can’t get a decent photograph otherwise.

I found the pattern easy enough. You just have to remember your yarn overs! I never tried to remember the whole 12 row repeat, but I got the hang of each row pretty quickly.

As soon as I bound off I cast on for the oldest mate-less sock in the pile. This would be my Firestarter socks that I knit back in September as part of the KAL. The pattern is going super fast this time as I’ve gotten used to twisted and traveling stitches.

Firestarter sock #2

I’m almost done with the gusset and should be turning the heel in no time. I’m really looking forward to wearing them, I think they’re the brightest socks in the stash.

Note: The yarn I used for the Snowflake socks is Lotus Yarns Aura in Walking with a Ghost and the yarn I used for the Firestarter socks is Phoenix Fiberworks in Nymph.

I just realized I never posted the sock I finished a couple weeks ago.

New Year sock #1

This is the January pattern for the Sockamania KAL “New Year socks”. I am knitting this pair for my M-I-L. I’m really lucky that she has the same size feet as me, just a tad bit wider so it makes it really easy for the sizing. The yarn I used is from One Sheep Hill a yarn I believe is exclusive to Yarnzilla. I won it about a year back on Flint Knits’ blog and it had been waiting for the perfect pattern until now. Now, I’m really hoping this yarn is superwash as my mother in law will not hand wash these socks…

So this is where things are at this point in time. I’m trying to catch up on work, moving in, blog reading and doing my own blogging. I guess I need a nap now! : )

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 02 2008
Chris

Oh, the Firestarters are lovely! Must knit that pattern. Glad to hear the move went well and that you’re back online!

5 02 2008
Macoco

Congratulations on the move. I’m glad it went well!!

5 02 2008
Beth

I’m glad your move went well. That’s always a really big job.

6 02 2008
Becky

I love the Firestarter sock! And that color is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

