Spinning Monday

11 02 2008

Before my move I told you about this roving I had spun up from a Perchance to Knit roving.

Perchance to Knit roving

I bought this off of a destash sale she did about a year ago. It was 2.8oz of Corriedale in an unknown colorway which I’ll name “Retro”. It’s a mix of silver, yellow, orange and brown.
I started spinning it in June 2007 and finished spinning it this January.

Perchance to Knit all spun up

I got about 220 yards of yarn with it and I’m pretty sure that if I’d had a full 4oz of the roving I would have enough for a pair of socks. Although I’m not sure I’d knit socks out of my handspun quite yet.

I think that it would have been a great candidate for Navajo plying but I don’t know the technique yet so I just plied the 2 strands together. This is what it looks like now.

Retro

It’s not my typical colors but I like the fun and retro-ness of it.

I can’t for the life of me manage to make the nice little piles like  Alyson does, even after she explained to me how she did it…

I’ve already started spinning my February fiber but I’ll keep it to show you next Monday!

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 02 2008
Lori

That is just lovely! I think you did a great spinning job!

11 02 2008
deb

Man – that is really pretty! I’m still working at getting a consistent thickness and twist. You look like a pro to me!

11 02 2008
Beth

It’s very pretty and cheerful!

Leave a Reply

