Spinning Monday

18 02 2008

Here are a couple pictures of what I am currently spinning. I started it about a couple weeks ago but haven’t touched it much since. I’m hoping to get a bit more spinning on it this week.

This roving is a total mystery to me. I have no idea what the fiber is and where it came from. I think someone gave it to me when I had just started spinning and there was no information with it. So I’ll just call it “The Lavender roving of unknown provenance” or L-RUP for short.

Lavender roving

You can’t really tell in this picture but the roving is not only lavender but also light blue and pink. I think you can see it a bit better here. The darker purple to the left of the bobbin is what I used as a lead (I think that is what it is called).

On the wheel

I’m trying to spin a uniformly (or more uniformly) thick single here. The fiber spins very easily so I’m not having too much of a hard time doing so.

I forgot to weight the whole pile of roving before starting with it but I probably have something like 4 oz. When I’m done with the single I’m debating whether to leave it as a single or try figuring out navajo plying with it.

On a side note. Last week I finally managed to go for the first time to The Fiber Loft in Harvard. I was in the general area and made a special detour to go there. I really wanted to buy a niddy noddy and I even had made sure to check their schedule to see if they were open… Guess what, they were closed… Bummer.

Anyone know of another spinning store in the Boston area?

ETA: I found Mind’s Eye Yarns in Cambridge

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 02 2008
Chris

All I can really say about spinning is “oh, look, spinning!” 😉

20 02 2008
keri

It’s very pretty and hooray for spinning a thicker, even single, it is so hard for me. I just tackled navajo ply this week, I’ve been using up bits of leftover singles on the bobbin and I feel like I’m finally getting the hang of it – it’s fun but not as easy for me as the 2-ply.

Leave a Reply

