May Day Sock Swap

21 02 2008

After 2 fairly successful sock swaps (Sockapalooza and Monkey Sock) I’ve decided to join my 3rd sock swap. This one is organized by Lynne and Emily (who just had a baby!) and is named May Day Sock Swap.

May Day Swap

This swap is a fairly small swap and is a secret swap so I wont tell you much about my pal’s preferences in case she comes and visits!

I’ve already chosen the yarn for her socks but am still debating on the pattern. The yarn I picked is Schaefer Lola in this gorgeous purple/burgundy colorway.

Schaefer Lola

The pattern I’m thinking of knitting is the Red Dwarf socks by Turtlegirl. I think they’ll go together well.

I’ve cast on for a practice pair of Red Dwarf socks for myself with this gorgeous yarn that is Hand Maiden Casbah in Sangria.

Hand Maiden Casbah Sangria

I’m loving how it looks so far and the pattern is super fast and easy. In no time I had 2 repeats done.

Red Dwarf Sock - the beginning

The Casbah is a gorgeous yarn to knit with and I’m loving the fact that I can knit it up on 3.25mm. It makes a big difference when you’re used to knitting everything on 2.5mm!

For those wanting some of their own Lola or Casbah, both of them will be available at yarn4socks  on the next update on Sunday 24 at 9pm est.

Actions

Information

10 responses

21 02 2008
Chris

I have some Lola in my stash – it feels like it will make really yummy socks!

21 02 2008
PocketSize

What beautiful yarn! And yay for using Turtlegirl’s pattern 🙂

21 02 2008
Beth

Both yarns are beautiful and the sock is looking great, too! Love the colors.

22 02 2008
turtlegirl76

The RDs are going to be so pretty in that yarn! Yay!

25 02 2008
Jennie

ooooohhhh those are gonna be some really amazing socks. I love both the colorways you are working with. 🙂 What a lucky swap partner.

25 02 2008
Becky

I LOVE that pattern! I’ve just downloaded it from Ravelry and it goes to the top of my new sock list. I think I already have some yarn at home I can use, too. Although I love how the Sangria is looking knit up. I like the Schaeffer Lola better but I think those are one-of-a-kind. If you know where I can find another, please let me know.

25 02 2008
Tonni

Both of these are beautimous colors!!! The pattern looks great so far in the Casbah.

26 02 2008
Becky

I have another question: aren’t Lola and Casbah two different weight yarns? I was checking out the Loopy Ewe and they look to me like one’s sock weight and one’s sport weight. The Casbah colors are simply luscious and I WANT some.

26 02 2008
May Day Sock Swap » What’s Cookin’?

[…] Dwarf Socks knit with gorgeous Schaeffer Lola will be the surprise socks for Valerie’s partner. She’s already started a practice […]

2 03 2008
Marisol

What beautiful colors! Gosh I wish I was your pal:) I am sure she will be very happy:)

Leave a Reply

