Belated FO post – subject: Firestarter socks

26 02 2008

Way back in September, I joined the Firestarter KAL with the goal to knit a pair of Firestarter socks, a beautiful pattern by Yarnissima. With the beginning of the KAL, the first sock was done fairly quickly in less than 2 weeks. Time passed and other socks were knit. A few months passed before the second Firestarter sock made its way into the rotation but soon after that, I had a completed mate and another pair of socks.

Firestarter socks

Stats
Sock #1 was knit between September 21 and October 1 2007. Sock #2 was knit between February 2 and February 14 2008.
Yarn: Phoenix Fiberworks colorway Nymph
Pattern: Firestarter socks by Yarnissima
Mods: one less repeat of the twisted stitches on the foot because of my row gauge. Also I didn’t knit them quite as long in the leg and I didn’t change needle sizes on the leg, although I think that would have been a good idea.

Firestarter socks

I enjoyed knitting these socks a lot. Figuring out the twisted stitches was a bit daunting at first but I figured it out quickly enough. Knitting my second Snicket sock after that was a walk in the park, no more need to use a cable needle! It was also my first time doing a toe-up with gusset sock so that was a learning experience too. I wont be afraid of doing more twisted stitches pattern and actually look forward to it. There are quite a few out there that are very pretty…

I haven’t worn these socks yet except for a few hours after finishing them. I’ve noticed that they slouch a bit but I think that wont be too much of a problem.

Firestarter socks

The color of the yarn is really fun and bright, I’m really looking forward to wearing them this spring with my pink crocs! : )

Actions

Information

7 responses

26 02 2008
Macoco

Pink and green is such a happy color combination! The socks are beautiful as always!

26 02 2008
Ariel

Gorgeous! And my very favorite color. And wow, that makes me want to be home, knitting with my very own Phoenix Fiberworks yarn, not stuck at work! 🙂

26 02 2008
turtlegirl76

Very pretty! The yarn sings in that pattern!

26 02 2008
Chris

Gorgeous! I love twisted stitches sock patterns. 🙂

27 02 2008
PocketSize

Awesome socks! I love that color, too 🙂

27 02 2008
nj2

love love love the socks, particularly the color. Most of the firestarters I have seen are in red and orangey colors. This one is a breath of spring.

27 02 2008
Keri

Whoa those are stunning and eyecatching to the extreme! What beautiful socks!

Leave a Reply

