Tutorial Friday

11 04 2008

Since I started sewing box bags I’ve had a lot of questions asking what pattern I was using so I decided to do a special post on what tutorials I’ve been using and some of the improvements I’ve made to them so that you can make your own!

For my first box bag I used Drago[knit]fly’s box bag tutorial and followed the directions exactly. I had some trouble figuring out how to place my fabrics on the second side of the zipper so I did some searching on the internet and found another tutorial on this blog. This tutorial just helped me figuring out the layering although I didn’t use for anything else.

Box bag

I then sewed my second box bag. I decided to make this one a bit larger as I thought the first one wasn’t quite big enough. I think that I used a 16″ by 14″ rectangle instead of 16″x12″ rectangle. Also, I used a zipper that is much longer and found out that this made my life much, much easier as the zipper pull doesn’t get in the way when your sewing the zipper on.

Heather Bailey Freshcut project pouch

This box bag ended up being completely wonky as I couldn’t figure out a way to make the 4 corners identical and I resolved to figure that out by my next one. Thankfully, I was reminded of something in the above-mentioned tutorial by Twenty Acres and no Sheep. She cuts off corners which makes them even and straight.

I tried this technique with my third box bag.

Sewing

This time I started with a totally different size fabric which means that the box bag ended up being more like a pencil case than anything else. But cutting up the corners really helped and I managed to have totally even corners.

On my fourth box bag I put together a bigger size rectangle with the improved corner technique and came up with this.

Box bag - 4th attempt

This box bag came out exactly like I’d hoped, nice and square with straight edges. Now I’ll that’s left for me to figure out is how to make my seams inside tidier, which will involve some interlocking… I still need to figure that part out!

This wasn’t really a tutorial but I’m hoping it will still help those of you who want to make these box bags. The key is to use a longer zipper and to trim the corner! Happy sewing!

Actions

Information

10 responses

11 04 2008
Chris

I’m happy buying bags that others make. 🙂

11 04 2008
Karen

Terrific!!!! I had also stumbled across the longer zipper trick – the same way you did. I had a long zipper in my stash and decided to just use it, and it made life so much easier.

Now I can’t wait to try the corner trick. I think I’ll pull out my fabrics and make another bag today.

11 04 2008
jen

welcome to my life, time spent cutting extra zipper lengths and corners 1 hour and 12 min.

time spent ironing 2 hours.

11 04 2008
Bridget

I really want to try making one of these. But like Chris, I’m also real happy with those that others make … 😉

11 04 2008
amandacathleen

Look at all your fantastic bags! And I’m loving your new header. Lovely : )

12 04 2008
Beth

I enjoyed seeing the progression of you bag making projects. All of your bags are lovely!

13 04 2008
crzjane

Love your new blog.
Nice bag. Makes me want to dust off the old sewing maching.

14 04 2008
Elizabeth

Your zip bags turned out so well! I made one of these years ago and need to try again soon. Thank you for the tips!

17 04 2008
Zonda

I’ve been making these for a few months and had the same wonky end seam problems! Thanks for the link! 🙂

21 04 2008
Kerry

Hi,
Thanks for the tips, I made my first box bag yesterday and I’m really pleased with the results. I’d also like to know how to make the inside seams neater, If you figure it out can you let us know? 🙂 Thanks again,
Kerry

Leave a Reply

