Too much stuff to share!

22 04 2008

I am not quite sure what I should be blogging about today. Should I blog about my just finished quilt? Or about my new embroidery hobby? Or maybe about what I’ve been sewing lately? Or what I’ve been knitting?

I guess that today I’ll share with you my pride and joy. My first proper quilt.

Finished quilt! - folded

Oh! You want to see the whole thing! Ok, ok, here it is!

Finished quilt! Yay!

Last Wednesday, in my last beginner’s quilting class we sewed the first side of the binding on. I didn’t want to wait around so I started hand-sewing the back of the binding a couple days later. Many tv shows later I finally finished sewing the binding. It was my first time hand-sewing something this big and I wasn’t sure of what I was doing but I think that by the end my stitches were looking pretty good!

Here’s a shot of the back of the folded quilt

Back of finished quilt - folded

And a shot of the full back. You can see the quilting lines pretty well there if you click on the picture to make it bigger.

Back of finished quilt

I’m really happy with this quilt. It was my first so the piecing is far from perfect and the quilting goes all over the place. But overall, I think it’s quite pretty!

Now I’m ready to sandwich and quilt a (much simpler) quilt top I made a couple years ago!

********

I guess you’ll have to wait until the next posts to find out about the stitching, sewing and knitting!

Actions

Information

6 responses

22 04 2008
Ariel

Wow – that’s beautiful! Congrats on finishing your first quilt.

And whenyou say you hand-sewed the binding, is that all the outside edges? Wow again.

22 04 2008
Karen

That come out stunningly gorgeous!! You should be so proud. Wow – no wonder why you wanted to show that first. šŸ™‚

22 04 2008
Karen

It is just beautiful! You did a wonderful job on it. I love the fabrics you used.

22 04 2008
Chris

Gorgeous quilt!! Um, embroidery?? When do you find the time to do all these things?! Wow.

22 04 2008
Adelle

I love it!!! I start my quilting class on Thursday.

And I will be looking for you on Sunday. We will be at WEBS before the whole shindig and then probably hang after, if you want to do a little something.

23 04 2008
Becky

Very pretty! I did some quilting about 10 years ago and I learned one important thing: quilt fabric is as addictive as sock yarn. Happy stashing! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

