The theme for today is: Embroidery

23 04 2008

I apologize in advance to those who come here only for knitting, I will try to post about my knitting soon!

Since I first talked about embroidery back on Friday, a lot of things have happened.

I embroidered the drawing I showed you.

My first embroidery project

I used a combination of split and back stitch. The results are very naive but I find it really cute and enough for me to fall in love with embroidery.

The next day I found out that a very good friend used to embroider and had lots of stuff to give me.

Embroidery materials

She gave me all of her embroidery floss, a hoop and some needles. She also lent me both books.

This

Bunch of floss a friend gave me

Plus this

Organizing my new hobby

Became this

Embroidery floss - All nice and straightened out!

Doesn’t it look pretty?!

A great sale at AC Moore brought about the purchase of about 2 dozen more colors of floss.

Last night I decided to embroider a little something of my own design to practice a few more stitches.

My second embroidery

I also purchased a pack of flour sack towels to embroider these beauties by Posie gets cozy.  Those will probably be up next!

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 04 2008
britt

I am massively jealous of your embroidery skills! Where do you get your flour sack towels? I love those things more than any other towel and everywhere I look they are super expensive (i am talking plain, not hand embroidered) I know my mom gets them for super cheap, but we don’t have the same stores out here.

25 04 2008
Carol

That’s amazing for a first attempt!

30 04 2008
Rebekah

This little scene is so adorable! I’m totally in the mood to embroider after listening to Jenny Hart’s interview on Craftsanity.com.

Leave a Reply

