Excursion to Ogunquit Maine

29 06 2008

Last weekend I found out that my mom and my aunt (visiting from Vancouver) were going to be heading down to Ogunquit for a couple days. Since we live at a very reasonable distance from Ogunquit I decided to drive up there last Monday.

I had made sure to google possible yarn stores in the area and found the Yarn Sellar in York, right on route 1. I didn’t want to buy any yarn but they had bottles of Eucalan which I needed. Further up the road I saw a big sign for a quilt shop. Having some time to spare before I was due to meet up with my mom I decided to make a quick detour by Knight’s. I found this store really nice with a lot of variety and some really nice fabrics. Of course, I had to spend some money there as they were having their Anniversary Sale.

Fabric stash enhancement on my way to Ogunquit ME

After meeting up with my mom and aunt at their inn, we walked to Perkins Cove for some lunch.

Perkins Cove

The weather wasn’t the nicest and it rained a few drops while we were having lunch but we were able to walk from Perkins Cove to Ogunquit via the Marginal Way after having a bite to eat.

Wells Beach - Ogunquit Maine

We found quite funny that a section of the Marginal Way was closed due to some construction but that a lifeguard was still guarding a section of the coast.

Lifeguard garding nothing

I had my mom hold one of my socks in progress when we stopped at one of the multiple benches on the path.

Mom holding my sock!

We then headed into town for some shopping but were interrupted by some very heavy rain. We made our way back to the Inn using the local bus (a very convenient way to get from the beach to the multiple Inns in and around Ogunquit). Sadly for me, it was time for me to go back home by then. I had a great time there and must be sure to go back there sometimes this summer with DH.

Roses and bee

I got to knit a bit over the weekend so I’ll have something to show you in a couple days!

Actions

Information

4 responses

30 06 2008
Jewel

Lucky you to still have your mother to shop with, value every moment.

30 06 2008
jessalu

Very cool! Ogunquit is one of our favorite places to visit – in 2004 we rented a cottage across the street from that bridge and I spent a week being scared to death walking over the bridge for a week. I also bought yarn from the Yarn Sellar last year and I’m knitting socks with the yarn right now.

It looks like you had a great trip. :o)

2 07 2008
Debby

Ogunquit is such a pretty town. I haven’t been in a while, but Noolie Knits (Julie) is there and she has great things to say about the Yarn Sellar too. Glad you were able to meet up with your Mom!

15 07 2008
Beth

Maine is one of my favorite places! I just love it up there. I’m glad you had a nice time.

Leave a Reply

