Not a sock

15 07 2008

The last few days have been spent sewing and knitting. And I haven’t been knitting socks… Can you believe that!

On Friday I had the chance to start working with the new Noro Silk Garden Sock and for some strange reason I decided to not knit socks with it. I chose the color 84, which is the color of Silk Garden I wanted to knit Lady Eleanor with, but never got around to finding the yarn for.

Noro Silk Garden Sock!

So instead of knitting socks I decided to knit a cowl. Yes, a cowl. Ever since cowl-mania started around blogland and everyone was knitting them, I’d been wanting to knit my own but just never got around to it. The Silk Garden Sock was just perfect for one. I had an idea of what I wanted so I browsed around Ravelry looking for the perfect pattern. I didn’t really find what I was looking for but was inspired by the Pashmina Cowl from Last-Minute Knitted Gifts and just made up my own pattern.  I cast on and started knitting, some stockinette, some garter ridges, more stockinette and more garter ridges.

Silk Garden Sock Cowl

I have 2 or 3 inches to go until I’m done with my cowl and I really love it. I realize now that I might have made the cowl a bit too large, but after finding the Cowl group on Ravelry and reading about a cowl’s perfect size, I think I’ve found a solution.

Halfway done with the cowl

This last picture is as of yesterday and I have a few more inches done on it now. I expect that I will have it done tomorrow or the next day. The wonders of knitting on US 7, I had forgotten what it was like…

**********

Don’t forget my contest!
Thank you for all the suggestions, they’re awesome! Keep them coming!

