Spinning Monday’s back!

28 07 2008

Last Sunday or maybe the Sunday before that I had this sudden urge to spin something. It had been quite a few months since I’d last spun anything so it was nice to sit down at my wheel again.

I went through my spinning stash and decided to try one of the Crown Mountain Farms pencil rovings that I purchased last April.

Corriedale Pencil Roving from Crown Mountain Farm

I picked the Spring Blooms colorway

Roving now on the wheel

and started spinning.

I try to spin a bit every day or every other day. I haven’t weighed the ball of roving yet so I am not sure how much I’ve done so far. But this is what it looks like, or rather what it looked like a few days ago.

Spinning again

I think that I will just spin it into a 2-ply, and with 8oz to begin with should have a pretty good size skein when I’m done.

*******

I’ve also done some knitting; I finished my Noro Silk Garden Sock cowl, I finally finished my first Celebrations socks and am a few rows away from finishing my second Noro Kureyon sock. You can expect a FO post pretty soon! For those interested in sewing I’ve also finish my doll-size quilt and made great progress on my pinwheel quilt, so maybe another sewing post soon.

Actions

Information

5 responses

28 07 2008
deb

That Spring Blooms color is beautiful! It’s amazing how just a few minutes at the wheel can amount to so much fiber isn’t it. BTW – “The Funny Fungi” didn’t even get Honorable mention – I’m sooo sad!!! 😉

28 07 2008
Guinifer

Yes – we want to see those pretty FO pictures!

28 07 2008
Carol

Wow! Your spinning is great. Love those colorways.

28 07 2008
Beth

Your spinning is beautiful!

29 07 2008
Becky

I bought the “Silk Road” Corriedale from CM and I loved how it spun up. What’s the colorway of the middle one? Your spinning is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

