Celebration!

27 08 2008

I never showed you a sock I finished about a month ago. It is a single sock, so shouldn’t really deserve a whole entire post, but I need your advice, so I think it’s worth it!

Back in May, the Sockamania KAL sock pattern was a beautiful cable and lace pattern. I cast on and struggled through it. I knit the foot and when I got to the leg, where I would have had to knit the cables all the way around the leg, I just couln’t do it! So I found an alternate solution to my problem and finished the sock that way.

The sock came out beautiful, the cables and the lace is really gorgeous together and I’m really pleased with the way it fits too. Even DH thought they looked really cool!

Sockamania Celebrations sock #1

I did knit the sock on the short side, again to avoid the cables, but then again, most of my socks are on the short side.

Sockamania Celebrations sock #1

In this picture you can see a little bit of my modification, there on the left…

After knitting the heel, I decided to only knit the lace pattern on the back of the leg and not knit the cables at all.

Back of leg is same pattern as front minus the cables

I do really like how it looks, what do you think?

So this is what I wanted to do; (and after seeing Bellamoden’s post today about her beautiful mistmatched Koigu socks I don’t feel so bad) I would like to knit the entire sock like the back of the first sock, only the lace part, without cables. I would be fine with wearing mistmatched socks, and I would get a finished pair sooner than if I waited until I had the patience to knit a sock full of cables!

Are you for or against? I’d love to have your opinion on the subject of wearing mistmatched socks.

Actions

Information

6 responses

27 08 2008
Chris

I love the idea in theory, but I think it would drive me nuts. But – I am notorious with the matchy matchy, so YMMV.

28 08 2008
Becky

I love cables so if they were my socks, I’d knit the second the same as the first. But hey, they’re your socks and you’re the one knitting and wearing them, so do whatever the heck you want! They’ll be beautiful whatever you do. 🙂

28 08 2008
Bridget

I say go for it. There are few items of clothing that you can be as adventurous with overall as socks. Let it drive other people crazy, that would be half the fun!

28 08 2008
Jewel

I would knit the second the same. I really like the pattern and I think it would be worth it.

28 08 2008
Karen

I think you should go for it if you’d be fine with it. I am kind of obsessive about my socks matching, so I’d never be able to do it.

28 08 2008
Amanda Cathleen

Go.For.It. How much fun would be be to wear mismatched socks? Even though they wouldn’t be *that* missed matched, they would be the same colors.

Leave a Reply

