11 months

18 11 2008

That’s how long it took me to knit, not an aran sweater nor a lace shawl, but a simple pair of socks.

Back at the beginning of January, I had this brilliant idea of joining the “From your Stash Sock Club“. My first installment was a skein of Lotus Yarns Aura with which I cast on for a pair of Snowflake Lace socks from the now defunct Magknits from October 2006 (link to Ravelry pattern.

Lotus Yarns Aura - Walking with a Ghost

The colorway was “Walking with a Ghost” and I thought that the silver color of the yarn added to the silver thread would be extremely appropriate to a pattern evoking snowflakes.

It took me less than a month to finish the first sock but then I just had all these other yarns and sock patterns I wanted to try so the first sock languished until September when I finally cast on for the second one. It still took almost 2 months to knit the second sock, again, I was distracted by other yarns and deadlines, but I finished it, like I expected, a couple days after coming back from Stitches East.

Finished Snowflake Lace socks

I haven’t had a chance to wear them yet but the season for shiny, shimmery things and snowflakes is almost here, so I finished them just in time and will wear them soon!

Additional notes: They were knit toe up, of course, with a short-row heel. I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Actions

Information

7 responses

19 11 2008
Karen

Very pretty! I really like the subtle sparkle!

19 11 2008
Carol

I have a huge case of sock envy! They’re gorgeous!

19 11 2008
Nicole

Super pretty! Perfect for the first snowfall.

19 11 2008
Chris

At least they’re lovely, even if they were slow!

20 11 2008
amandacathleen

they are perfect for the season!! Beautiful, I love the bits of shimmery silver

21 11 2008
Jewel

Very cute socks!!

21 11 2008
limedragon :-: Harriet

They look worth it! I love the color/yarn combination with the pattern, perfect! : )

Leave a Reply

