Goodbye 2008, Welcome 2009

1 01 2009

I can’t believe it’s been almost 2 weeks since I last posted. It got a bit crazy around Christmas time and after that I enjoyed my days off quite a bit. But now I’m back!

Christmas went really well. We ended up celebrating on Christmas Eve at our house. It was never planned that way but my in-laws, where we were supposed to have Christmas, had lost power for 10 days until a couple days prior to Christmas and I offered to have it at our place. It was only confirmed 2 days before the actual date so I it was a bit crazy trying to get everything ready on time!

I made my first lasagna, a slightly modified version of this. And by slightly modified I mean adding about one pound of cheese, way more spinach and by adding mushrooms and olives to the vegetable mix. I also made one of my signature desserts, a pavlova.  Everything was yummy and everyone was happy!

After supper we exchanged presents and I got some really nice toys! A new digital camera; a point and shoot to carry with me when I don’t feel like carrying my big DSLR, a super awesome new phone, the T-Mobile G1. That thing is awesome! My only knitting related gift was from my sister-in-law. She got me these awesome blocking tiles by CocoKnits.

Knitter's Block

I will be using them really soon as my Calvert is closer to being done than not. I’ve got the lower back and both fronts done and I’m halfway done with the back yoke. All that will be left after that are the sleeves and the finishing.

On the 26th we had a wedding uniting one of DH’s aunt with the awesomest person a knitter could be related to. My new uncle is a shepherd! He owns a 600 sheep flock in Montana, in the same valley as Mountain Colors. His sheep are Targhee and Targhee Merino with extra fine fleeces.  I’m really looking forward to visiting there sometime in the future!

Things were pretty quiet since then. We spent time with family and I enjoyed knitting, sewing and reading.  Due to quite a big snowfall yesterday DH and I ended up staying home for New Year’s Eve. At 11:55pm I couldn’t stay awake anymore and went to bed.  And now it is 2009, time for a recap of what went well and what went bad in 2008 and time to set goals for the new year. But that will be in another post!

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas/Holiday time and I wish you all a wonderfully blessed and happy new year.

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 01 2009
Annette

Happy New Year! You’re a trooper for pulling off hosting Christmas with only 2 days to get ready!

1 01 2009
Guinifer

I love the orange bag that your gift came in.

2 01 2009
Beth

Happy New Year! I love pavlova and I haven’t had it for a long, long time. Yum!

4 01 2009
Carol

Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

