Let’s not forget all the sewing I did

4 01 2009

In my last post I did a quick recap on what I knit in 2008 but I forgot to show all that I sewed during that year. As you will see, I have a lot more finished sewing projects than I had knitting projects.

Sewing and Quilting FOs of 2008

I sewed 32 box bags, 8 pillow covers, 3 quilts, 2 bags, 1 apron and a few more little pouches and coasters. I feel  more and more comfortable with my sewing machine and I hope that I will learn many more skills in this new year, including making buttonholes!

I made 2 sets of coasters since the beginning of the new year as well, and I finished my pinwheel quilt yesterday. On Friday, I finally decided to tarry no longer and start hand stitching the binding. I worked many hours but by the end of yesterday it was all done! I took the quilt outside this afternoon and got a few pictures.

The first photo I took out in the snow, the colors are a little washed out but you can see it in full. It’s not quite big enough to cover our queen size bed but I think it would fit nicely on a twin size bed.

Pinwheel Quilt in the snow

This one shows truer colors, even if you can’t see the entire quilt.

Pinwheel Quilt

I’m really happy with this quilt. It will make a nice lap blanket in the spring!

Actions

Information

6 responses

5 01 2009
Becky

The quilt is lovely!

5 01 2009
Beth

Beautiful projects and your new quilt is great!

5 01 2009
Carol

I love the pinwheel quilt but the one for your mom with the greens and pinks is my favorite!

5 01 2009
Guinifer

That quilt would look perfect at my cabin!

10 01 2009
Annette

You accomplished a lot in ’08. The quilt is beautiful and would be very cozy on my lap right now (it’s a little chilly here this morning).

I’m taking a class starting next week to learn how to use my sewing machine. I’ve been wanting to do this for awhile. I’m hoping there are some quilts in my future!

15 01 2009
rima aranha

Wow. Thats a lot of sewing. The stuff is stunning.

Leave a Reply

