Not so WIP anymore – Part 2

12 02 2009

At my last Monday night’s weaving class, I finished my class sampler. I tried out many weaves like tabby, standard twill, basket, broken crow and broken twill, return twill and rose path. I also got to try out different yarns; slubby, tweedy, extra thick and extra thin to see how they behave in the different weaves.

Here you can see one half of the sampler:

Weaving sampler

And one bit of the other side:

Weaving sampler

Here are some of my favorite sections:

Weaving sampler

Broken twill

Weaving sampler

Return twill on the sides with Rose path in the middle

Weaving sampler

More broken twill

At the next class we’ll get to work on our own project. I’m planning to make a scarf out of my stash sock yarn. I just have to figure out how much I need and then I’ll be able to figure out how many skeins of sock yarn I need. If there are any weavers reading this, how many skeins of fingering weight yarn would you need for a 10″ x 60″ scarf at about 400yds a skein? I’ll make sure to show you when I decide!

Actions

Information

6 responses

12 02 2009
Becky

That looks like it was a lot of fun. I’d like to play with weaving a bit but I just don’t have the time at the moment.

12 02 2009
Guinifer

Ooo – I can’t wait to see how your sock yarn works on a loom!

Your sample is very cool.

12 02 2009
amandacathleen

ooo the textures! Very cool, very very cool!

12 02 2009
Chris

Oh, sock yarn scarves are fun!

13 02 2009
Jewel

It looks really good! So are you going to buy a loom?

14 02 2009
Annette

Very impressive! I love the different textures.

Leave a Reply

