Sew, Mama, Sew Sewing Machine Meme

5 06 2009

The Sew, Mama, Sew! Blog has started a Sewing Machine Meme in order to collect reviews on different types of machines in one place. I’m participating to help others out, and if you sew, I encourage you to do the same. If you don’t sew, I’d suggest to move along, as you’ll most likely get bored. If you’re ever planning on getting a sewing machine, read on!

What brand and model do you have?
I have a Pfaff Expression 2036

My new sewing machine

How long have you had it?
Less than 24 hours. Last night I traded in my Pfaff Select 3.0 for the Expression 2036. I had the Select 3.0 for a little over a year.

How much does that machine cost (approximately)?
I bought the Expression used, it’s a 2 year old machine and it was $750. New it maybe worth $900-$1000, but am not sure. Thankfully I didn’t pay as much since I got some money for my trade in.

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)?
I sew quilts, bags, box bags, some home dec like pillows, no clothing yet but am planning to.

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get?
I’ve been sewing pretty much every day for the last couple months. But usually I sew at least once or twice a week. Especially when there’s a quilt I want to finish!

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name?
I really liked my Select 3.0, even if it didn’t have everything I wanted. My new machine has a couple of the features I didn’t have in my old one so I think I’ll like it even more! She doesn’t have a name yet, I’ll have to think about it.

What features does your machine have that work well for you?
I love, love the IDT, something particular to only Pfaff sewing machine. IDT is an integrated walking foot, so no matter what foot you’re using or what type of stitch, you have the dual traction. It’s really a awesome feature and would never go to another type of machine because of that.

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine?
I don’t think there is, but then again, I haven’t had it for very long!

Do you have a great story to share about your machine (i.e., Found it under the Christmas tree? Dropped it on the kitchen floor? Sewed your fingernail to your zipper?, Got it from your Great Grandma?, etc.!)? We want to hear it!
None about the new machine, but one day, the foot pedal on my old machine went bonkers. Whatever was inside the pedal that creates the tension that makes it go faster, slower or stop was broken. So basically, if the machine was on, it was going, and fast. There was nothing else to do but go to the store and get another foot pedal.

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why?
I would definitely recommend any Pfaff machine, they’re very good machine and the added IDT is again, the awesomest feature.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine?
Buy your machine from a local quilt store with friendly staff because they’re the ones that are going to be helping you out if you have a problem. They’ll give you classes on your machine, etc. Also, buy the best you can afford and make sure to try it out as well as others to see what you like best. If you’re in the Boston area, the Button Box is an awesome quilt shop, I definitely recommend checking out their Pfaff selection.

Do you have a dream machine?
I have my eye on the Pfaff Quilt Expression 4.0… One day!

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 06 2009
Guinifer

Wow – the sports car of the sewing machine world!

7 06 2009
Kate

Hi Knitting in Pink, You are a WINNER of my SEWN giveaway. Can you please email me your contact details and I will send your bundle over! katedixon 80 at hotmail dot co dot uk

Congratulations!

2 07 2009
Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog » » Sewing Machine Master List

[…] ClassicStyle Quilt 2027 Pfaff ClassicStyle Quilt 2027 Pfaff Creative 1475CD Pfaff Creative 2144 Pfaff Expression 2036 Pfaff Expressions 2038 Pfaff Grand Quilter Pfaff Hobby 1030 Pfaff Hobby 1132 Pfaff hobbylock 4752 […]

4 08 2009
jamie

thanks for the post. i am looking at a minimally used pfaff 2027 for $750 myself. i don’t know if that’s a good price or not though? any advice from anyone?

thank you!

Leave a Reply

