Life isn’t fair when…

5 07 2009

You receive in the mail this gorgeous set of fabrics for the 12 Squared virtual quilting bee from Sarah, have a great idea and want to start sewing.

12 Squared fabrics for Sarah

You have all these cool box bags (my favorite batch so far) that need to be worked on.

Box bags in progress

You have this small scrappy quilt top (Strips and Bricks by Malka Dubrawsky aka Stitch and Dye in Sew Hip, April 09) all cut up and ready to sew.

All ready to be sewn up

You start working on this quilt and almost at the end of the 7th strip out of 15, your sewing machine goes on the fritz.

Strips and Bricks, almost 7 columns done

Yes, the machine is kaput, unusable, done for, dead to me. At least until I can get it looked at, which, because it’s the summer and a holiday weekend, not going to be until Monday. To add insult to injury, my friend graciously offered to lend me her barely used sewing machine, and I can’t get it to work, something wrong with the feed dogs.

It really isn’t fair, isn’t it?

I think I’m not going to get any sewing done this weekend. I guess I’ll have to knit! Wish me luck on Monday that they can fix my sewing machine really quick!

Actions

Information

8 responses

5 07 2009
jownby

Aw – sorry. It will get better!

5 07 2009
peacockchic

The HORRROR!!!! Good luck but if nothing else knitting is always your friend for a little calming therapy :O)

5 07 2009
Chris

Woe! It does seem as the universe does not want you to sew this weekend. Hopefully you’ve found other things to keep you occupied!

5 07 2009
kimchi

ouch! that definitely sucks!
Hope you enjoyed a little knitting this weekend and omg. the Squirrel-Owl box bag is calling my name… 🙂
and I haven’t forgotten about the aprons…things have been crazy around here the past few weeks.
xo, ek.

6 07 2009
madforknit

What a shame! I was away all weekend and you could have used mine. Hope it’s a quick fix.

6 07 2009
deb

That’s just – wrong!

6 07 2009
britt

My machine died in the middle of a quilt too. By the time I got it back my sewing mojo was gone, but I have been knitting up a storm and I will get back to sewing again soon, I hope

6 07 2009
amandacathleen

AURGH! I do hope that you stomped your feet a good one! And that your machine was able to be fixed quickly! Also that you found something to knit 😉

Leave a Reply

