CSA Tuesday Week 4

7 07 2009

Today’s pickup was more bountiful than the last weeks and is going to provide for lots of tasty meals.

CSA Week 4

We got a zucchini, 2 beets with lots of beet greens, 2 lettuces, some kale and some parsley and super yummy smelling basil. We can also go pick more peas, strawberries and now in season raspberries. Although, from our experience this past Sunday picking our share of strawberries and peas, there isn’t much left of both of these!

The recommended recipe tonight was a beet and greens salad. The beets were cooked in the oven at 350 degrees for about an hour until they were tender. I peeled and quartered one beet and laid it on already dressed salad greens and then sprinkled it with crumbled feta cheese (the recipe called for goat cheese but I didn’t have any).

Beet & Greens Salad

This last Sunday, DH invented a very tasty lemonade and I made more tonight to go with our supper. I’m sure this lemonade has been done many, many times before but it was a first for us, and maybe also for you! I use the recipe on the back of my bottle of lemon juice for the basic lemonade (1 cup sugar, 1 cup lemon juice for 2 quarts water) and then add raspberries and chopped up strawberries.

Lemonade

It’s a really refreshing drink and the raspberries and strawberries add a nice extra to the basic lemonade. I’ll definitely be making more!

Last but not least, we had a very tasty dessert of fresh berries over greek yogurt with a drizzle of honey. I used some of the strawberries and raspberries that we picked on Sunday and added some store bought blueberries. Yummy!

Later this week, I hope to cook up the kale and beet greens into something delicious, I’ll keep you posted!

**********

Sewing machine ETA: I brought my sewing machine at my local sewing store (were I bought my machine) and dropped it off so it could be looked at later that day. After a $60 repair it is now back home and I am very, very glad.

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 07 2009
kimchi

deeeeelicious!!! I lurve beets too… yum…
and those berries floating in the pitcher look so yummy and cute! 🙂
hooray! the sewing machine is fixed! xo.

8 07 2009
Guinifer

Back to work on all those sewing projects then!

The lemonade is pretty! (Tasty too, I’m sure).

10 07 2009
Kate

Wow, the CSA thing looks and sounds great! We’ve been thinking about starting one up from here but we have such a long winter when nothing much grows. Are you involved in the farm work too?

Leave a Reply

