Doll Quilt Swap 7

24 07 2009

The other day, as I was going through my 100+ sewing/quilting blogs in my reader, I came across info about the 7th installment of the Doll Quilt Swap. I’d been tempted before but the timing was never right to be able to sign up but this time sign ups were just beginning so I was able to get in. I’d loved seeing other people’s doll quilts before and I thought that it would be fun to try. I’m already in a virtual quilting bee and that’s just the next step!

This swap is a “blind” swap, which means that I know who I’m making a quilt for but she doesn’t know who is making one for her. To help out the person who will be making me a quilt, here’s a few of my favorites for inspiration.

DQS 7 inspiration

My tastes are very similar to comfortstitching and you should see her post right here. Her mosaic and her likes and dislikes are very much my tastes as well.

I started working on the quilt for my partner. It’s been a bit difficult to decide what to do as she didn’t really specify colors or prints she liked and she does a lot of “art quilts” using techniques I am not really up to trying. She favorited a value quilt so I thought that I’d try something like that. I went through my fabrics this morning and after sorting some more with the help of Carol, I spent the afternoon cutting and sewing and this is what I’ve got so far.

My fave so far

I quite like this, but it means I’ll need to make up a few more blocks. I’ll still play around with the placement of the blocks but I think it’s a good start. I tried other placements as well. If you’re so inspired and want to help me, the other pictures are right here.

Alright, back to playing with my fabrics!

