Good mail days

24 08 2009

Last Monday, when I came back from our mini vacation, I was thrilled to find lots of packages waiting for me at the post office. It’s not often that I have so much that they need to give me the crate with the packages!

Good mail day - Before

There was a big box of zippers, a big bag full of bias binding (thank you Zonda!), fabrics from a few swaps, some from an etsy vendor and more Orla Kiely fabric bought on Ebay.

Good mail day - After

Most of these supplies will be used in box bags, but maybe not the Heather Ross minivan fabric, it’s just too cute!

This mail goodness on Monday was nothing to prepare me, though, to what would arrive on Friday. When I opened my mailbox on Friday I was surprised at the sight of a large padded envelope. I wasn’t expecting anything so was quite surprised.  I recognized the name it was coming from, one of the participants of the virtual quilting bee I’m in, but, even though her month was coming up it was still a bit early for her to be sending her fabrics out.  So I open the envelope and find this item nicely wrapped in tissue paper.  Still no idea what it is. I unwrap it and see the back of a small quilt… Still no idea. Then I have the bright idea to read the note included and I finally find out that I was the lucky recipient of my own Doll Quilt Swap 7 quilt! Made by Amanda!

Amanda got me so, so well and made me something totally, wonderfully perfect. I love it!

Doll quilt for me, from Amanda!

She used mostly fabrics from the Heather Ross Far Far Away collection, which I love, woodgrain fabric for the binding, another of my faves and tons of other fabrics that make it a most wonderful quilt for me.

Doll quilt for me, from Amanda!
Unicorn block

Doll quilt for me, from Amanda!
Frog block

Doll quilt for me, from Amanda!
Hexagons!

Doll quilt for me, from Amanda!
Cute birdie on a branch and the pretties daisy backing

I have a little bit of wall in my craft room where this quilt would be perfect. I just now have to figure out how to hang it. I know I’ll be looking at it a lot. Thank you again Amanda, I love it very much.

I have to finish the quilt for my DQS7 pal now, I hope she likes it as much as I liked mine.

Actions

Information

7 responses

24 08 2009
Helen

WOW! Its stunning. Lucky you!!

24 08 2009
Chris

It’s very pretty – lucky you indeed!

24 08 2009
Guinifer

That is so very sweet. You have had a very nice mail week.

24 08 2009
Carol

Super cute doll quilt!!!

24 08 2009
Annette

What a fun package to get in the mail! It’s very pretty. 🙂

24 08 2009
Kate

What a great package…s to come home to! Lucky you!

Would you mind me asking were you source your zippers from? you seem to have a great selection of colours.

24 08 2009
Zonda

Gorgeous lil’quilt! Nice looking fabrics too!

Leave a Reply

