Quilt blocks, quilt top!

20 07 2008

Last weekend I finally started working on the 1930’s quilt I mentioned a while back. First I made a sample out of cardboard just so I would have an idea of how the blocks would look like.

10" cardboard sample block

After cutting out all my pieces I made a sample block out of spare fabric.

Test Quilt Block

The quilt blocks for the actual quilt weren’t going to be mismatched fabrics but I still got a good idea of the size and the final look.

After chain-piecing all my blocks I ended up with 25 blocks. Each block is 10″x10″ so just the blocks along make a nice 50″x50 quilt top. I tried a few different layouts and these were the main contenders.

Random:

Random layout

Gradient:

I like this layout the best I think

The general consensus is that the gradient layout is the most interesting. It’s also my favorite, so I’m quite happy with it. Next up I have to decide on sashing and borders and buy fabric accordingly. I hope to have a finished quilt top next weekend!

*******

Win a quilt at www.oldredbarnco.blogspot.com

If you’re not interested in making your own quilts like me but would like to win your own, go check out Old Red Barn Co.‘s blog. She’s currently giving away a beautiful quilt with fabulous fabric from designer Sandi Henderson for Michael Miller fabrics. It’s the second time that she’s giving away a quilt and although I didn’t win last time I will try again this time! If you would be interested in winning this quilt yourself, make sure to go here and leave a comment! There’s nothing hard about that!

***********

My contest ends tonight! Make sure to get your entry(ies) in! The winner will be announced as soon as I can!